Ravioli

Today I decided it was finally time to try out the new pasta attachments I had bought for my Kitchen Aid mixer a while ago.  I also had a craving for ravioli and since I had also purchased a ravioli form, I figured I might as well give it a try.  All I have to say is WOW! Homemade pasta is so much better.

I found a simple recipe for the meat filling.  I stayed true to the recipe and actually ended up quadrupling it as I figured if I was going to make ravioli, I was going to make a lot of it.  I found a great tutorial and recipe for the dough over at Our Vintage Home Love.  I did not have cake flour on hand so I used all purpose and I doubled the recipe as I figured it may be necessary.  If doubling the recipe I would advise cutting the dough into eighths instead of quarters to make smaller lengths of dough once rolled out.  I’m not going to bother doing up a tutorial here or posting recipes as the tutorial on Our Vintage Home Love is very well done and there’s nothing I can really add to it.  But what I will give you are some pictures of the process.  Oh and for the sauce, I simply thawed out a couple of containers of the pasta sauce I had made in the fall using this recipe from My Darling Days.

Making the dough for the pasta; Since I had no cake flour on hand, I simply added 2 TBSP of cornstarch to the doubled recipe as I read that's a substitute for cake flour.  Consequently I ended up adding about 1/4 cup of water to get the right consistency but the dough was very easy to work with.

Making the dough for the pasta; Since I had no cake flour on hand, I simply added 2 TBSP of cornstarch to the doubled recipe as I read that’s a substitute for cake flour. Consequently I ended up adding about 1/4 cup of water to get the right consistency but the dough was very easy to work with.

Making Ravioli.  For the majority of the ravioli I used the #4 setting on the pasta roller. For a couple I went as far as #5 but don't think I would go any further. To fill the ravioli I used a mini cookie scoop filled about 3/4 of the way.  I was able to make 4 full baking sheets each with 24 ravioli on them and I still had about 1/3 of the dough left.

Making Ravioli. For the majority of the ravioli I used the #4 setting on the pasta roller. For a couple I went as far as #5 but don’t think I would go any further. To fill the ravioli I used a mini cookie scoop filled about 3/4 of the way. I was able to make 4 full baking sheets each with 24 ravioli on them and I still had about 1/3 of the dough left.

 

Making fettuccine with the leftover dough.  I rolled the dough to #3 setting before running it through the cutter.  Not sure if this is the proper method but it worked well, then I hung it on the drying rack for about 40 minutes before putting it in an airtight container in the fridge.

Making fettuccine with the leftover dough. I rolled the dough to #3 setting before running it through the cutter. Not sure if this is the proper method but it worked well, then I hung it on the drying rack for about an hour before putting it in an airtight container in the fridge.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ravioli

  1. thegourmethw says:

    This looks great! I had a manual pasta roller before I ever had a Kitchen Aid, but looks like it works the same. I agree…homemade pasta is just so much better. I need to invest in a drying rack. I usually just make enough for supper that night, but would love to make it ahead of time. 🙂

    • cdawnb says:

      Thanks! I can’t wait to make different kinds of homemade pasta now that I know just how much better it is. There are some pretty fancy drying racks out there but I figured I would just buy a cheap one at first. It’s pretty great and comes apart easily for storage.

      • thegourmethw says:

        I’ve tried making spinach pasta dough – easy and delicious, and beet pasta dough – beautiful in color until you cook it…it just fades to a light pink, it’s also really hard to work with to get it dry enough to use, but purple enough to look pretty.

Leave a Reply

