Vincent is 2 – Construction Party Theme

My son is obsessed with trucks, cars, trains, tractors, etc.  So this year I decided to have a construction themed party.  For the decorations, I kept it pretty simple and made a banner out of construction cones using my Silhouette Cameo, signs that said ‘DIG IN’ and ‘KIDS AT PLAY’ and for the front door a sign that said ‘Hearing protection recommended beyond this point’.  I filled a large vase with blocks as a centrepiece for the table.  I also made little yellow diamond shaped signs to label all the food that I made, cupcake toppers that had a picture of a truck on one side and the flavour of the cupcake on the other side.  Then I added some yellow and red balloons.  In terms of party favours, I used my Silhouette to create little tool boxes, that had each kids name on the front, along with a little tool design.  Inside, the favor boxes were filled with personalized tattoos (made using the Silhouette), Play-doh with labels that said ‘builder’s putty’, stickers, and a balloon.

Construction Party Decorations

Construction Party Decorations

 

Construction party favors

Construction party favours

When it came to food, I served fruits with an orange creamsicle dip, veggies with dilly dip, ham, cheese, and cracker towers, construction cone cookies, chocolate covered marshmallow hammer pops, nuts and bolts, munchies mix, luscious slush punch (reduced sugar to 1 1/4 cups – so yummy), banana muffins(reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups) with cream cheese buttercream(I found 2 cups of icing sugar to be perfect, 3 would be too sweet), and of course the cake which was a double layer chocolate zucchini cake with strawberry and chocolate ganache filling, covered with chocolate fudge buttercream.

Construction cone cookies made by shaping an old cheap cookie cutter into a cone like shape.  Piped orange icing, then let it harden for a couple of hours, then filled in the outline with icing, spread with an offset spatula until smooth, then covered with orange sprinkles.

Construction cone cookies made by shaping an old cheap cookie cutter into a cone like shape. I then piped orange icing to make the outline of the cone, then let it harden for a couple of hours.  I then filled in the outline with icing, spread with an offset spatula until smooth, then covered with orange sprinkles.

 

 

Chocolate covered marshmallow hammer pops.  This was something I am happy to say I came up with on my own and they are so simple and delicious.  To make the chocolate grey, I simply melted Callebaut milk chocolate melting wafers, then added some blue chocolate colouring (which is oil-based) and stirred until it was incorporated.  Then I simply dipped the end of each pretzel into the chocolate and stuck into the marshmallows.  I put it in the fridge to harden for about 5 minutes.  Then I dipped the marshmallows, shaking gently from side to side to remove excess chocolate and then put in the freezer for about 5 minutes.  Then they are hardened and ready to be packaged or stored in a container until party time!

Chocolate covered marshmallow hammer pops. This was something I am happy to say I came up with on my own and they are so simple and delicious. To make the chocolate grey, I simply melted Callebaut milk chocolate melting wafers, then added some blue chocolate colouring (which is oil-based) and stirred until it was incorporated. Then I simply dipped the end of each pretzel into the chocolate and stuck into the marshmallows. I put them in the fridge to harden for about 5 minutes. Then I dipped the marshmallows, shaking gently from side to side to remove excess chocolate and then put them in the freezer for about 5 minutes. Then they are hardened and ready to be packaged or stored in a container until party time!

Banana muffins with cream cheese buttercream.  I used a Wilton 1M tip to frost the cupcakes and used my Silhouette to design and cut out cupcake toppers.

Banana muffins with cream cheese buttercream. I used a Wilton 1M tip to frost the cupcakes and used my Silhouette to design and cut out cupcake toppers.  Also I have recently discovered Reynolds foil lined baking cups and I love them.  They come off the cupcake so easily and they have pretty designs too.

 

To make the cake topper, I formed Rice Krispies into a loaf pan, then went to work carving with a serrated knife.  Then I made up marshmallow fondant and coloured it, then smoothed it onto the shape I had carved, covering the entire truck with yellow, then adding on layers for each design element.  Once done, I scraped in some lines on the top and side of the truck using one of my cake decorating tools.  To stick the fondant to itself all you need is to paint the back of the shape you want to stick on with water.

To make the cake topper, I formed Rice Krispies into a loaf pan, then went to work carving with a serrated knife. Then I made up marshmallow fondant and coloured it, then smoothed it onto the truck shape I had carved, covering the entire truck with yellow, then adding on layers for each design element. Once done, I scraped in some lines on the top and side of the truck using one of my cake decorating tools. To stick the fondant to itself all you need is to paint the back of the shape you want to stick on with water.

 

Dump truck cake with Vincent's name and the number 2 in orange on the side of the cake in mini M & M's.  To make the cake, I made up a recipe of chocolate zucchini cake, added green M & M's (in hindsight, not the best idea because when the green melts a little it looks like mold- whoops!) and chocolate chips and divided it into two 8 inch pans.  Once cooled, I levelled the cake that was going to be on the bottom as I wanted a curved top on the cake.  I then whipped up a batch of strawberry filling and chocolate ganache, let them cool then spread them on the bottom layer, stacked the layers and put in the fridge to cool for half an hour.  Once that was done, I crumb coated the cake and put it back in the fridge for another half hour.  Then I did another layer of the chocolate frosting, then sprinkled Oreo crumbs on top which is what I planned to do on the entire cake, but ended up not liking it, so I came up with the idea to write his name in M & M's on the side of the cake.  At this point it was 1 AM on the day of the party, so please excuse the crookedness.  This was not my finest work in terms of decorating, but it was delicious and my son loved it!

Dump truck cake with Vincent’s name and the number 2 in orange on the side of the cake in mini M & M’s. To make the cake, I made up a recipe of chocolate zucchini cake, added green M & M’s (in hindsight, not the best idea because when the green melts a little it looks like mold- whoops!) and chocolate chips and divided it into two 8 inch pans. Once cooled, I levelled the cake that was going to be on the bottom as I wanted a curved top on the cake. I then whipped up a batch of strawberry filling and chocolate ganache, let them cool then spread them on the bottom layer, stacked the layers and put in the fridge to cool for half an hour. Once that was done, I crumb coated the cake and put it back in the fridge for another half hour. Then I did another layer of the chocolate frosting, then sprinkled Oreo crumbs on top which is what I planned to do on the entire cake, but ended up not liking it, so I came up with the idea to spell his name in M & M’s on the side of the cake. At this point it was 1 AM on the day of the party, so please excuse the crookedness. This was not my finest work in terms of decorating, but it was delicious and my son loved it!

In terms of entertainment, I filled up our water table with assorted items (dice, little plastic animals, squishy caterpillars) and then covered all that with cotton balls and added some shovels and measuring cups so the kids could dig and dump and play.  This was a huge hit and I think every kid at the party played in here at some point.  I didn’t snap a picture of them playing unfortunately and forgot to until my husband had already cleaned out the cotton balls, but i do have a picture of what I put inside.  I also made a silhouette of a construction worker then laminated a tool belt for some pin the tool belt on the construction worker play, but the kids were having so much fun it was mostly neglected other than a couple of kids that noticed it.  Whoops!

All in all it was a fun party and a very easy theme to work with!  And my son loved it which in the end is really what matters most!

Pin the tool belt on the construction worker using a laminated tool belt and some sticky tack.

Pin the tool belt on the construction worker using a laminated tool belt and some sticky tack.

This entry was posted in Cakes, Kids, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.