Mini Cheesecake Bites – Toblerone and Cherry

Mini Cheesecake bites - Toblerone and Cherry

Mini Cheesecake bites – Toblerone and Cherry

We were invited to a friend’s house for New Year’s Eve so I offered to bring a dessert along not knowing what I would bring and then it hit me…cheesecake.  I had made a cheesecake for one of the Christmas suppers and it went over well (I will try to do a post on that sometime soon and link this one to that post) so I figured cheesecake was a pretty safe bet.  But I didn’t want to commit to just one kind of cheesecake which is why I used the recipe for easy mini cherry cheesecake bites to make mini cheesecakes – cherry and toblerone.  Of course I made some modifications based on ingredients I had around the house.

Mini Cheesecake Bites – Toblerone and Cherry

Printable recipe here.

Mini cheesecake bites - ingredients

Mini cheesecake bites – ingredients

Ingredients:

Crust

  • 2 cups Oreo baking crumbs
  • 8 Tbsp butter or margarine
  • 8 Tbsp sugar

Filling

  • 2 (8 ounce) packages of cream cheese, softened
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 can cherry pie filling
  • 4 pieces of toblerone bar, cut into sixths
  • Caramel ice cream topping

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Combine graham crumbs, butter and sugar together.  Drop by 1/2 tsp into the bottom of liners.  Press down.  To get them all pressed down nicely, I discovered the little midget containers that Tupperware sells fit perfectly in the bottom of mini muffin tins.  So I would just scoop my filling into the liners, then press down with the bottom of the midget container.

Mini Cheesecake Bites - pressing down the crust

Mini Cheesecake Bites – pressing the crust flat

2. Using the paddle attachment, beat cream cheese, sugar, eggs, lemon juice and vanilla until smooth.

3. Use a scoop to fill each liner about 3/4 full (as you can see from my pictures I only filled about 2/3 – whoops).

4.  Bake at 350 degrees F for 15 minutes.

5. Let cool completely before putting toppings on.  For the cherry cheesecake bites, I simply made sure to scoop one cherry onto the top of each bite, along with some of the sauce.  For the toblerone cheesecake bites, I simply squeezed some caramel ice cream topping onto each bite, then placed a piece of toblerone bar on them.  Refrigerate until ready to serve.  I love these little bites.  They are simple, delicious, and make it easy easier to practice some portion control.  I believe I was able to make 48 bites using this recipe.

I did find I had a lot of the crust mixture left over so I simply placed liners into the pan, pressed down the crust, then stacked them and put them in the freezer to use the next time I have a craving for cheesecake.

Mini cheesecake bites - freezing left over crust mixture

Mini cheesecake bites – freezing left over crust mixture

My husband mentioned that he liked the toblerone topped bites better as the flavour was not too overpowering.  With the cherry bites, he found that the cherry on top of the bite completely overwhelmed the cheesecake flavour.  While I can agree, I still found both to be delicious.

Mini cheesecake bites - cherry

Mini cheesecake bites – cherry

 

Mini cheesecake bites - Toblerone

Mini cheesecake bites – Toblerone

Mini Cheesecake Bite - cherry and toblerone

Mini Cheesecake Bites – cherry and toblerone

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

