Blueberry Steel Cut Oat Muffins

Blueberry Steel Cut Oat Muffins

Blueberry Steel Cut Oat Muffins

Continuing on my quest for healthy muffin recipes, I came across this recipe for blueberry steel cut oat muffins that looked yummy.  I baked them up this morning and the kids and I have been snacking on them throughout the day.

Blueberry Steel Cut Oat Muffins

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 1 cup water, boiling
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk (or 3/4 cup milk plus 1 Tbsp lemon juice)
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour (I used 1 cup whole wheat and 1/4 cup white flour)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup blueberries (if frozen, do not thaw)

Directions:

1. In a small bowl, combine steel cut oats and boiling water.  Cover with a plate and let sit for 10 minutes.  When I make these again, I will likely let the oats soak at least another 5 – 10 minutes as I found them quite crunchy in the finished muffins (though nobody else seemed to mind).  After time is up, spread oats out onto a plate and place in the freezer for about 10 minutes (to cool to room temperature).

*Update: January 30, 2013: I made these muffins again yesterday and upped the time the oats were soaking to 20 minutes and they were noticeably less crunchy which made me happy.

2. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Spray a mini muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray.  In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.  Add blueberries, and stir to coat.

3. In a small bowl combine cooled oats, buttermilk, melted butter, egg, vanilla extract, and brown sugar.

4. Add oat mixture to dry ingredients, stirring just enough to combine (about 12 stirs should do it).  Using a mini scoop, fill muffin cups 2/3 – 3/4 full.  Bake for 10 – 12 minutes, until tops spring back up when lightly pushed down on.  Cool for a few minutes in the muffin tin, before transferring to a cooling rack.  Repeat with remaining batter.  I was able to make 48 mini muffins with this recipe.

The kids loved helping me make these muffins.  I would measure the ingredients and they would take turns pouring them into the bowl and of course my daughter insisted she stir. It’s her favorite part.  I am really enjoying doing all this baking as it’s a good opportunity for the kids and I to build some memories and have some fun together.  They also insist I leave the oven light on while stuff is baking so they can come check on it whenever they want.  They love watching the muffins “grow”.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

