Mongolian Beef with Sprouted Brown Rice and Oven Roasted Cauliflower

Mongolian Beef with Sprouted Brown Rice and Oven Roasted Cauliflower

Mongolian Beef with Sprouted Brown Rice and Oven Roasted Cauliflower

Back in December we purchased a half cow so our freezer is packed full of farm beef which means I’m on the look out for new beef recipes to try in addition to my stand by beef meals.  Today a search on Pinterest for beef dishes did not disappoint and I found this delicious recipe for mongolian beef.  I also found a recipe for oven roasted cauliflower.

Mongolian Beef

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients for mongolian beef

Ingredients for mongolian beef

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lbs beef flank steak, cut into stir-fry sized strips (I used flat iron as I didn’t have flank steak)
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp minced ginger (I used 1/4 tsp ground ginger)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (I used 1/4 tsp minced, dehydrated garlic)
  • 3/4 cup soy sauce
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots (I used 1 cup)
  • 3 medium green onions, chopped (I omitted this as my husband does not like them)

Directions:

1. Spray slow cooker with non-stick spray (I use olive oil spray).

2. Prior to placing the meat in the slow cooker, coat each piece of meat in corn starch.

3. Combine the rest of the ingredients in a medium sized-bowl and pour over beef.

Mongolian beef ready to cook

Mongolian beef ready to cook

4. Cook on low for 4 – 5 hours, or high for 2 – 3 hours.

5.  Serve over sprouted brown rice.

Oven Roasted Cauliflower

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients for oven roasted cauliflower

Ingredients for oven roasted cauliflower

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium head cauliflower trimmed and cut into bite sized pieces
  •  3 large cloves garlic, thinly sliced (I used 1/4 tsp minced, dehydrated garlic)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 2 Tbsp grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.  Meanwhile, combine garlic and cauliflower in a medium bowl.  Pour olive oil and lemon juice over the cauliflower and garlic.  Then sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Stir.

2. Pour into an oblong baking dish, making sure there is only a single layer.  Bake for approx. 25 minutes, stirring halfway through.

Oven roasted cauliflower

Oven roasted cauliflower

3.  Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and enjoy!  Makes 6 servings.

Oven roasted cauliflower

Oven roasted cauliflower

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mongolian Beef with Sprouted Brown Rice and Oven Roasted Cauliflower

  1. Wendy says:

    So that’s what to do with a flat iron! I’d never heard of it before and figured I’d be googling recipes as well!

    • cdawnb says:

      I felt the same way when I looked at the label and it said flat iron. I was pretty pleased to learn it’s a substitute for flank steak. It was very tender after being slow cooked. The kids liked it a lot too.

Leave a Reply

