Healthy Applesauce Oatmeal Muffins

I am slowly ridding my pantry of all most preservative-laden, sugar-filled foods in an effort to eat healthier.  Not just for myself, but I think it would be great for my kids to learn healthier eating habits as well.  I have decided that if there is to be any snack food in this house, it will only be here if I’ve taken the time to make it myself.  Not only does my pantry have a whole lot of empty shelf space now, but I am feeling a lot better about what I am serving my children, even if they are not as receptive to the idea as I am at this time.  My husband is excited as he’s been trying to convince me to do this for a long time.  It’s much easier not to eat it if it’s not in the house.

I found this muffin recipe here the other day as I was searching for healthy applesauce muffins.  These muffins are delicious and while I know they still have sugar, at least they are made with whole wheat flour, oats, and no oil.  I made some slight modifications, such as adding cinnamon directly to the muffin mix, rather than just in the topping.  It was actually done accidentally as I didn’t realize the cinnamon and sugar were intended to be for the topping.  Whoops!  But I love cinnamon so in this case it was a good kind of whoops.

Healthy Applesauce Oatmeal Muffins

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients for applesauce muffins

Ingredients for applesauce muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup old fashion rolled oats
  • 1 cup non-fat milk
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup raisins (optional)
  • 1/4 cupped chopped pecans (or nuts of your choice) (optional)

Topping:

  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp sugar

Directions:

1. In a small mixing bowl, soak the oats in the milk for approximately one hour to soften them up.

2. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Prepare your muffin pan using non-stick spray (I used Pam butter spray).  I also used a mini muffin pan rather than a regular pan.

3.  Add the applesauce and egg whites to the oat and milk mixture, stirring until combined.

4. In a medium sized mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients (except raisins and nuts), whisking together until blended.

5. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, stirring until just combined.  Add in raisins and nuts (if desired), once again stirring until just combined.  Be careful not to over-mix!

6. Scoop muffins into sprayed mini muffin pan, filling almost to the top.

7. Combine cinnamon and sugar for the topping in a small bowl.  Sprinkle some on top of each muffin then pop into the oven and bake for 15 – 20 minutes.

Just need to sprinkle on the topping, then pop them into the oven

Healthy Applesauce muffins

8. Once they come out of the oven, remove from the pan and put on a wire rack to cool.  Enjoy!

Healthy Applesauce Muffins

Healthy Applesauce Muffins

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

