Felt Mr/Mrs. Potato Head and Boy/Girl Dress Up Sets

Ove the last two evenings I worked on one last project for our trip.  I knew I wanted to do some dress-up dolls and some version of Mr/Mrs. potato head when I started making the quiet book, but didn’t really want to put them in my book.  I saw an idea for putting little dress up dolls in a box, but I figured my kids would crush any box and it wouldn’t be overly portable.  Then it hit me.  I have plenty of little wipes containers because I get them every time I buy a new case of wipes.  So I got busy designing on my computer and in no time the designs were cut out and since I had ironed Heat and Bond to the backs of each piece I cut out, I simply had to iron the pieces back to back so the items were all nice and thick (so they can hold up to the abuse I’m sure my toddlers will dish out) and identical on each side.  I will be posting patterns after our trip so you can make your own if you want.

To make the potato head dress up set, I simply cut out felt in the general shape of the inside of the wipes case and then used some craft rubber cement to adhere the felt pieces to the case.  Then I simply put all the pieces inside and the kids can now play with Mr and Mrs potato head on the go.  And the case closes up once they’re done.

Felt Mr/Mrs. Potato Head in a wipes case

Felt Mr/Mrs. Potato Head in a wipes case

Wipes case for Mr/Mrs. Potato Head.  I am going to try to come up with an idea to decorate the case.

Wipes case for Mr/Mrs. Potato Head. I am going to try to come up with an idea to decorate the case.

*Update: January 28, 2013.  I have received some requests for patterns for these, and I finally figured out how to convert them to PDF files and will post each pattern as I get it converted.  Pictures of the patterns can be found at the bottom of this post, but I will post the PDF files separately (as I really don’t know what I’m doing when it comes to posting PDFs on my blog. :P)  Also, when cutting out pieces, if you don’t want to have to do any sewing but want them to be durable, simply iron some heat and bond onto the back of your felt, cut out duplicates of each piece, and then iron them together back to back.  

Here is the PDF file for the Mr. Potato Head Pattern.

Here is the PDF file for the Mrs. Potato Head Pattern.

Here is the PDF file for the Felt Boy Dress Up Pattern.

Here is the PDF file for the Felt Girl Dress Up Pattern.

Next up are the felt boy/girl that can be dressed. To make this one I once again used a wipes case. I cut cardboard to be slightly smaller than the inside of each side of the wipes case. I then cut out pieces of felt big enough to cover the cardboard completely. I sewed the felt inside out along two sides, then flipped it right side out and pressed it, slipped it over the cardboard and then sewed along the top to seal it.

Felt dress up dolls in a wipes case

Felt dress up dolls in a wipes case

Sewing the felt covers for the cardboard.

Sewing the felt covers for the cardboard.

Once that was done, I put self-adhesive velcro dots on the four corners on each side of the felt covered cardboard. Then inside the wipes case I put the scratchy side (as my daughter would call it) in each of the four corners of the inside of the wipes case. I repeated this process for the other side, but on the other side I also sewed three rows of ribbons around the felt covered piece of cardboard. Once this was all done, I placed the girl doll on one side and the boy on the other side. Then I hung all the girls clothes/accessories on one side using mini clothespins on the ribbon and the boys clothes/accessories were hung on the other side. The boy and girl dolls are each reversible. On one side, the girl had blonde hair and on the other side is a brunette. The boy is wearing a blue hat on one side, and a yellow hat on the other side.

Brunette felt dress up doll in a wipes case

Brunette felt dress up doll in a wipes case

Blonde felt dress up doll in wipes case

Blonde felt dress up doll in wipes case

Felt boy to play dress up with

Felt boy to play dress up with

Wipes case for felt dress up dolls

Wipes case for felt dress up dolls

I can’t wait to see the kids reactions to all of these creations I have been working on, but they have to be a surprise until our trip because I am hoping the fact that they are new to them will make them more entertaining. Fingers crossed.

Pattern for Felt Mr. Potato Head - pieces fit in a wipes case

Pattern for Felt Mr. Potato Head – pieces fit in a wipes case

Pattern for Felt Mrs. Potato Head - pieces fit in a wipes case

Pattern for Felt Mrs. Potato Head – pieces fit in a wipes case

Felt Boy Dress Up Pattern - pieces fit in a wipes case

Felt Boy Dress Up Pattern – pieces fit in a wipes case

Felt girl dress up pattern - pieces fit in a wipes case

Felt girl dress up pattern – pieces fit in a wipes case

 

 

This entry was posted in Craft projects, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Felt Mr/Mrs. Potato Head and Boy/Girl Dress Up Sets

  1. Kirstylee says:

    These are darling! You don’t have a pattern for the pieces do you?

    • cdawnb says:

      Thank you! I have a pattern drawn up and on my computer, so it’s just a matter of getting it into a printable format. I am hoping to get patterns for these and other pieces up on my blog early in the new year.

  2. Debbie Moore says:

    I teach preschool. Would LOVE the pattern! Easy to pack up after Center Time!

    • cdawnb says:

      Thank you for reminding me that I had said I would provide a pattern. I just figured out how to convert the Mr. Potato head pattern to a PDF file so I will post it to my blog right away and add the rest as I get them done. 🙂

  3. Debbie Moore says:

    THANK YOU! Cutting Mrs. Potato Head hair right now!

  4. sajmom says:

    Thank you!! I originally tried to download another potato head pattern that was free, but the site it directed you to download the free pattern from requires payment to download it! Frustrating! Very cute, I am so glad I found this!

  5. S. Caulder says:

    I can’t wait to make them for my nieces. They are sooo cute. Thank you for sharing. S. Caulder

  6. Ashley says:

    These are super cute…thank you so much!

  7. Dona says:

    This is wonderful. I sew for the Children’s Hospital here in Spokane WA and these will be awesome for the kids while they are in bed. Thank you so much for the pattern. Now I just have to find some cases!

    Dona
    sewingmilesofsmiles.blogspot.com

    • cdawnb says:

      You are very welcome! That is so kind and generous of you. It’s great to see the kindness of others. If you can’t find the cases you could always use Ziplocs as suggested in another comment and then cut out a piece of felt large enough for the dolls/potato heads to be put on.

  8. Paula U. says:

    I love your idea. My youngest daughter and I are working on some to put in our Samaritan’s Purse shoeboxes. If only we still had wipe containers. I am thinking of making a felt folder or just using ziplocs.

  9. Mary says:

    Thank you so much. I just added it to our facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/ClipwithPurpose We make Operation Christmas Child shoe boxes, just like Paula, above 🙂

  10. Pingback: Easy Felt Dress Up Toy — Using a “Wipes” Container! | Clip With Purpose

Leave a Reply

