My First Quiet Book is Finished

I set a goal of finishing the quiet book this weekend that I’ve been busy working on for our first flight with the kids and I finished it tonight!  I designed the cover on the fly after adding two grommets to each page, and using binder rings to hold the pages together.  I put thin pieces of cardboard (from cereal boxes and frozen pizza boxes) between the pages as I made the book.  I also put thin cardboard in the cover.  The cover has ribbon sewn into the ends to make carrying handles.  There is also a piece of fabric sewn to the cover that has velcro on the end along with velcro on the back of the back cover to keep it tightly shut.  To secure the binder rings to the cover, I sewed a double layer of ribbon to the middle of the inside of the spine of the book.  I put stitches on either side of each ring along the ribbon to hold the rings in place.

Here are some pictures of the finished product:

Quiet Book 2012

Quiet Book 2012

Quiet Book with handles and velcro closure

Quiet Book with handles and velcro closure

Beads are words that slide to practice counting

Beads are words that slide to practice counting

Pattern from Imagine Our Life Blog

Pattern from Imagine Our Life Blog

What time is it Mr. Wolf clock page

What time is it Mr. Wolf clock page

Pattern from Imagine Our Life blog

Pattern from Imagine Our Life blog

Cookie Baking Page with oven mitt and tea party page where the cookies can button to the plates

Cookie Baking Page with oven mitt and tea party page where the cookies can button to the plates

Personalized pictures are stored in bottom pockets with flaps and each letter has a pocket for pictures.

Personalized pictures are stored in bottom pockets with flaps and each letter has a pocket for pictures.

Mail box page with envelopes containing laminated letters - pattern from Imagine Our Life blog

Mail box page with envelopes containing laminated letters – pattern from Imagine Our Life blog

Sandcastle building fun - used pattern from Imagine Our Life

Sandcastle building fun – used pattern from Imagine Our Life

Follow the map to find the treasure hidden under the island.  Backpack holds Dora figurines.

Follow the map to find the treasure hidden under the island. Backpack holds Dora figurines.

Build a snowman/woman - pattern from Imagine Our Life.  Christmas Page - decorate the tree, tie bows on the presents, and hang stockings.

Build a snowman/woman – pattern from Imagine Our Life. Christmas Page – decorate the tree, tie bows on the presents, and hang stockings.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Quiet Book and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My First Quiet Book is Finished

  1. Jana D says:

    This is great!

  2. Jenn says:

    Wow, it turned out really nicely!! Congrats! The dotted fabrics are great! Is that just quilter’s cotton? How large are your pages?

  3. cdawnb says:

    Thanks. The dotted fabrics are from a fat quarter assortment I had picked up years ago and just happened to have sitting around in my sewing room. My pages are the size of a full sheet of felt (so 9 x 12). I do plan to do some binding along the edges of the pages to give them a more finished look, but I had a lot to do before our trip and just wanted to have the book in a (mostly) finished state. The good news is the kids loved it (especially my daughter) and it provided much needed entertainment on the plane and was great to use to help her wind down before bed time on our vacation.

    • Jenn says:

      Thx for the reply, I love the look of yours. I’ve really been going back and forth trying to figure out how I want to make my pages, out of which materials, etc.

  4. Chris says:

    Very nice quiet book, with some very unique idea. I really like the abacus page, it s the first time I see counting and reading put together.

Leave a Reply

