Quiet Book Page – Dora the Explorer

Before I show off this page, I would like to say that I’m sorry I haven’t been updating my blog very often or putting much for recipes on here lately.  I have been extremely busy getting ready for Christmas and our trip we are going on.  I basically spend every evening in my sewing room from the time the kids go to bed until about midnight.  So I am behind on posts, but have been trying to post pictures to the Facebook page I created for my blog.  I will post tutorials at some point for all the pages I’ve designed and recipes I’ve been trying.  I promise.

For now, here is a look at my completed Dora the Explorer themed page.  I had picked up a book that came with a big play mat and a bunch of characters from Dora last year and that is what I planned this page around.  I started out by making backpack big enough to hold all the figures.  There is velcro on the top flap to keep the backpack closed.  And of course backpack, just isn’t backpack without map.

On the facing page, I made a volcano, bridge, and treasure island. For those of you that have been subjected to watched Dora, I know you’re thinking “I know how to get to treasure island: First we have to go past the volcano, across the bridge, then we take a boat to treasure island”.  Oh and of course there had to be an actual map of the path we have to take, so map does unroll and then there is velcro on the end of the ribbon and on the edge of the map to keep it closed.  I also made a little pocket in the boat so the figures can “ride” in the boat.

Finally, I stitched the path on the facing page as well. It might have been unnecessary but I just liked the way it finished the page. Oh, and of course, treasure island really does have treasure buried in it. The whole island flips down to reveal a treasure chest.  I plan on filling the treasure chest with stickers, temporary tattoos and other fun goodies.  I have to say this may just be my favorite page yet!

Please excuse my picture quality as it’s late and I should be in bed but I just had to share this page first.

This entry was posted in Quiet Book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quiet Book Page – Dora the Explorer

  1. Jenn says:

    This is great! I look forward to reading more about your quiet book! I’m wanting to make one as well and I’m gathering ideas. I’d love more info on how you’re using your Cameo to cut out felt.

    • cdawnb says:

      Thank you! To use my Cameo to cut out the felt, I found stiff felt and/or felt with Heat and Bond ironed onto the back to work the best. The cuts are more precise (rather than the blade simply ripping through the fabric). I also set the cut settings to the thickest setting possible and reduce the speed so it goes through quite slow (I believe 2). I found I still had to do some cutting to get some of the pieces free but I still find it to be worth it, especially if you are doing several pages at once or are dealing with a lot of repetition. I have a lot of repetition because I make each piece double sided so that it is more durable. Also, because I was working on designing several pages around the same time, I would simply group the pattern pieces by color in the software provided and then cut out all the pieces of the same color at the same time. I found this to work efficiently both in terms of time and material. I will try to do a post some fine day using the Cameo to cut out felt once I get caught up. 🙂

  2. Jenn says:

    Thx for the great info! I just got a Cameo and was hoping to use it for The Quiet Books I’d like to do. I knew people must have found a way even thought Silhouette says it can’t cut felt!

Leave a Reply

