The Ultimate Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie

We are currently getting dumped on with snow.  So what better way to warm up after shovelling a lot of snow then coming in and baking some cookies to enjoy with a nice cup of hot chocolate.  I found this recipe on the bag of Robin Hood Oats and they are the best oatmeal cookies I have ever made.  I added Smarties to 2/3 of the batch, and raisins to the other 1/3 instead of using chocolate chips.

The Ultimate Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie


Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar* see update at the bottom of the post for substitution
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tbsp water
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3 cups Robin Hood oats
  • 1/2 cup Smarties
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • If using chocolate chips rather than Smarties and raisins, add 1 1/2 cups.

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350F (I used convection so I reduced my temperature to 325F).  Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

2.  Cream butter, sugars, egg, water, and vanilla together on medium speed with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.

3.  Combine flour, cinnamon, and baking soda.  Add to the creamed mixture, beating until blended.  Stir in the oats.  Split batter, approximately 2/3 in one bowl and 1/3 in a second bowl.  Add Smarties to bowl with 2/3 of batter.  Stir until evenly distributed.  Add raisins to bowl with 1/3 of batter.  Stir until evenly distributed.

4.  Using a cookie scoop, or heaping tablespoon, drop batter onto cookie sheets.  Bake for approximately 12 minutes, or until edges are golden brown.  Careful not to overbake!  Makes approximately 30 cookies.


Update: February 5, 2013: In keeping with my desire to eat (at least somewhat) healthier, I made a couple of simple modifications to this recipe. The first is completely replacing the granulated sugar in the recipe with applesauce. The second being eliminating water in the recipe (because I figured it would no longer be necessary as the applesauce would add moisture to the cookies). Also, I had no Smarties or raisins this time, so I used chocolate chips, but cut it down to 1 cup and honestly could have probably cut them down further to 3/4 cup. Next time I may even try subbing in banana for some of the butter to cut down on that as well, but that may resemble this other recipe I tried recently for “healthy cookies” that did not look at all like or taste like cookies in the least bit. I think there are some things that just aren’t meant to be too healthy and cookies (in my opinion, so far) are one of those. Needless to say, this time I used a mini cookie scoop and was able to get 54 cookies. These did not spread as much as the original recipe and were slightly more moist, but neither of these were a bad thing. The proof, 9 were devoured before I could even take a picture and I made them yesterday and as of noon today, only a dozen remain.  These are best enjoyed warm out of the oven with a nice tall glass of milk!

Ultimate Oatmeal Cookies with Applesauce instead of Granulated Sugar

Ultimate Oatmeal Cookies with Applesauce instead of Granulated Sugar

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ultimate Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie

  1. Wendy says:

    These are calling to me today. Yum! (Although I really shouldn’t make cookies when I’m trying to lose weight!)

Leave a Reply

