Pumpkin Seeds

I carved pumpkins with my family yesterday and saved 2 cups of seeds for eating later.  I found a couple of recipes – one for candied pumpkin seeds and one for roasted pumpkin seeds.

To prepare the pumpkin seeds for the recipes, I separated the pumpkin seeds from the pulp as best I could.  Then put the pumpkin seeds in a colander and rinsed several times, picking out excess pulp during and between rinses.  Then once I was satisfied that (most of) the pulp was gone, I spread them out in a single layer on a dish towel to dry overnight.    Then I simply picked off any remaining pieces of pulp (there were maybe half a dozen pieces).

Candied Pumpkin Seeds

Printable recipe here.

I made a slight modification to the recipe I linked to above after reading reviews and they turned out very well.  They also make your house smell so good while they are in the oven.


Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp melted butter
  • 1 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 250F.  Put pumpkin seeds in a small bowl.  Pour melted butter over pumpkin seeds.  Stir to combine.

2.  Add brown sugar, pumpkin pie spice, and salt.  Stir until ingredients are well combined.

3.  Spread out in a single layer on a foil-lined baking sheet (I sprayed mine lightly with some cooking spray).  Bake for 45 – 50 minutes.  *Note, if pumpkin seeds begin to make a popping sound, that means they are done.  Let cool, break apart and place in an airtight container.  Enjoy.



My only regret is not doubling the recipe and using this recipe for all my pumpkin seeds.  Don’t get me wrong, this next recipe is good as well, but these candied pumpkin seeds take pumpkin seeds to a whole other level in terms of my enjoyment of them!

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Printable recipe here.


Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp melted butter
  • 1 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 tsp salt (you could use other seasonings, such as seasoning salt, garlic powder, etc).

Directions:

1.  Pre-heat oven to 325F.  Put pumpkin seeds in a small bowl.  Pour butter over the seeds and stir to combine.  Let sit for 30 minutes so the butter can soak in (optional).

2.  Add salt.  Stir to combine.  Spread out into a single layer onto a foil lined baking pan (I sprayed mine lightly with cooking spray).  Bake for about 45 minutes, or until golden brown.

3.  Let cool, and place in an airtight container.  Can be stored for 3 months on the counter or a year in the fridge.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Seeds

  1. Pingback: Roasted Pumpkin Seeds Recipes

  2. Pingback: Make Candied Pumpkin Seeds | Dollar Store Mom Frugal Fun – Crafts for Kids

Leave a Reply

