Teriyaki Meatball Bowls

I have had six pounds of ground pork sitting in the freezer and I just couldn’t think of what I could use it for.  Then today it hit me, there had to be some good recipes out there for pork meatballs.  I did some searching and I was in luck.  I found a recipe for pork meatballs with a teriyaki glaze.  Here is my version: (I doubled the recipe tonight for the meatballs so I could serve some tonight and freeze the others for later)

Printable recipe here:


Meatball Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground pork
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup plain breadcrumbs
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp soy sauce
  • 2 whole green onions (I omitted these as my husband does not like them)
  • 10 – 15 cranks freshly cracked black pepper


Teriyaki Glaze Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 Tbsp toasted sesame oil
  • 1 Tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 Tbsp corn starch
  • 2 Tbsp water
  • 1 Tbsp sesame seeds

Rice:

  • 2 cups jasmine rice
  • 3 cups water

Directions:

1.  Preheat the oven to 400F.  Place the ground pork in a large bowl.  Add egg, breadcrumbs, garlic, ginger, soy sauce, green onions, and pepper to bowl.  Mix well, making sure all ingredients are thoroughly blended.  I like using my hands.

2. Cover a baking sheet with foil and place a baking rack on it.  Roll the meatball mixture into small balls.  Making a double recipe, I was able to make 48 meatballs.  Bake in preheated oven until golden brown (~35 – 40 minutes).

3. Add rice and water to a rice cooker.

4.  Start preparing the teriyaki glaze.  In a medium saucepan combine: soy sauce, brown sugar, water, sesame oil, rice vinegar, and ginger.  Mix well and heat over low heat until brown sugar is dissolved (~3 minutes).

5.  Meanwhile, combine water and corn starch, stirring until lumps are gone.  Add to saucepan.  Turn to medium heat, stir and cook until thickened.  Once thickened, add the sesame seeds.

6.  When the meatballs are done baking, place them in a large dish and pour the glaze over.  Stir to coat all meatballs.  Place rice in bowls.  Top with five meatballs and spoon a few spoonfuls of glaze over the top.

These are SO delicious (my kids loved them too)!  They will definitely become part of our regular rotation.  In the original recipe, they said they could also be made with ground chicken or turkey so I will definitely try that in the future as I can’t see them being anything but yummy.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teriyaki Meatball Bowls

  1. Ryan H says:

    I’ve made these before with a very similar recipe and they are delicious.
    By the way, what are the chances of you taking requests for recipes? I have a few you should try out and share on your blog!
    RJ

    • cdawnb says:

      I am always looking for new recipes, and as long as they don’t have curry or cilantro (or still taste good without either of those added) I am willing to give them a try.

Leave a Reply

