Cheddar Potato Perogies

Keeping with the theme of using up vegetables my parents give me, I decided it was time to make some perogies to use up some of the potatoes.  I remember many days spent helping my mom make perogies when I was growing up so I figured it wouldn’t be too hard to make some by myself.  I spent a decent amount of time looking for the perfect recipe, but couldn’t find just one that met my criteria for having enough cheese added to them.  This one seemed like a good starting point as the ingredients echoed those used by my mom.  One thing I will say is that if you are planning to make these, they are very time consuming so I wouldn’t recommend making these while you are home alone with your kids (unless they are old enough to help or you are slightly crazy like me)!

Cheddar Potato Perogies

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients:

Filling:

  • 20 large potatoes
  • 1 large (900g) block of cheddar cheese, grated
  • 1 cup of Cheez Whiz (optional)
  • 4 Tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 6 Tbsp onions, finely chopped (optional)

Dough:

  • 8 cups (2L) water, lukewarm*
  • 20 cups (4.7L) flour
  • vegetable oil
  • 2 Tbsp salt

*Upadate: December 2012- I made this recipe for my family’s Christmas Eve supper, but used the water the potatoes were boiled in to make the dough and they are the best perogies I’ve made to date.  My mom even told me they are better than hers and that means a lot because she’s been making them for decades.

Directions:

1.  Boil the potatoes until tender in salted water.  Saute onions until golden.  Drain potatoes.  Mash.  Add cheese, Cheez Whiz, and onions.  Add salt and pepper.  Add butter until a wooden spoon won’t stick to the potato mix.  Don’t add too much or the mixture will be too soft and too greasy.  Set the potato mixture aside to cool.

2.  To make the dough, I made two half batches so that I could mix them in my Kitchen Aid mixer.  Add two cups of water to the mixer bowl.  Add 10 cups of flour, then the additional two cups of water.  Mix with a dough hook.  Knead until smooth.  Rub hands with vegetable oil and wipe it over the top so the dough doesn’t get a crust.  Cover it with plastic wrap and a tea towel so it doesn’t dry out on top.  Repeat to make second batch.

3.  Once the potato mixture is slightly cooled, scoop potatoes onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet using a cookie scoop.  Put in the fridge to harden slightly.  Cut each scoop in half (if using a large scoop).  This step is not necessary as you can just scoop the mix into each perogy as you go along, but I liked that it kept my perogies all a nice uniform size and the potatoes didn’t mush around as much when I was trying to seal them.

4.  Roll out the dough into thin sheets (~1/8 – 1/4 inch).  Relax dough after rolling it out. Cut into circles using a 3 inch round cutter.  Immediately roll scraps left over into a ball and cover to keep from drying out so you can roll them out again.

5.  Cup your hand slightly.  Place dough round in your hand.  Make an indentation in the center of the dough using your thumb.  Place potato mixture into the center of the round. Stretch dough slightly to fold it over the filling.  Pinch edges of the perogies to seal, making sure to make a good seal or else it will pop open while cooking.

6.  If you want to freeze your perogies, place them on a tea towel lined baking sheet and fold over to cover them.  Place in the freezer until hard (at least a couple of hours), then divide into freezer bags.


7.  When you are ready to cook your perogies, bring a pot of salted water, with some vegetable oil added to a rolling boil.  Add perogies and cook for approximately five minutes, stirring frequently with a wooden spoon until perogies float to the surface.

   

8.  Makes approximately 20 dozen perogies.  Serving options: fried, topped with butter and onions, sour cream, bacon bits, salsa.

I had some slow cooker chicken taco meat in the fridge so I made some quesadillas to go with the perogies.  And I couldn’t wait to try some of the pickled carrots and pickled beets I made the other day so I served those with tonight’s supper as well.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

