Turkey Tetrazzini, Individual Turkey Pies, and Thanksgiving Dinner Balls

Yep, it’s another turkey recipe post.  This morning I chopped up the remaining turkey and discovered I still had about 20 cups of turkey to use up.  Now I know I could freeze it, but I know what the fate of the turkey will be.  It will sit in the freezer until it gets freezer burned and is no longer edible.  So I am forcing myself to make dishes up and then freeze those.

Turkey Tetrazzini

I found this recipe here.  I simply assembled this casserole then froze it so I can’t tell you anything about how it tastes, but it looks yummy.

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients:

  • 1 (10 ounce) can cream of mushroom soup
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1 (16 ounce) jar of Alfredo sauce
  • 3 1/2 cups chopped, cooked turkey
  • 12 ounces spaghetti (or vermicelli)
  • 10 ounces of frozen peas, thawed
  • 1 (10 ounce) can of mushrooms
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded baby Swiss cheese (I used 1 cup marble – as that’s what I had on hand)
  • 1 cup shredded Parmesan cheese, divided
  • 1/2 cup crushed garlic seasoned croutons
  • 1/4 tsp paprika

Directions:

1.  Whisk together soup and milk in a large mixing bowl;  whisk in Alfredo sauce.  Stir in chopped turkey, next 4 ingredients, and 1/2 cup of the Parmesan cheese.  Pour into a lightly greased 15 x 10 inch baking dish.

2.  Stir together the rest of the Parmesan cheese, the crushed croutons, and paprika;  sprinkle evenly over casserole.

3.  Bake, covered at 375F for 30 minutes.  Uncover, and bake 15 more minutes or until golden brown and bubbly.  Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

4.  Or if you are freezing this casserole, cover with plastic wrap and then a layer of tin foil and freeze for up to 1 month.  Thaw in the fridge overnight; bake, covered at 350F for 40 minutes.  Uncover and bake for an additional 15 minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Savoury Individual Turkey Pies

I found this recipe here.  These looked so good I just had to try them.  I ended up making 12 pies total as I had one two pack of pie shells.  I baked 4 of them tonight and put the rest into the freezer so we can eat them at a later date.  These are delicious, especially with some gravy drizzled over them.

Printable recipe here.


Ingredients:

  • 1 cup finely chopped, roasted turkey
  • 3/4 cup mashed potatoes
  • 1/2 (8 oz) package light cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas, thawed
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 2 Tbsp chopped, fresh parsley (or 2 tsp dried)
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 1/2 packages frozen pie crusts, thawed
  • Turkey gravy, warmed (optional)

Directions

1.  In a large bowl, combine the first 6 ingredients.  Season with desired amount of salt and pepper.

2.  Preheat oven to 400F.  Place pie crusts onto a lightly floured surface.  Cut into circles, using a 4-inch round cutter.  Place approximately 1 1/2 Tbsp turkey mixture just below the center of each dough circle.  Fold dough over filling, pressing and folding edges to seal.

3.  Arrange pies on a lightly greased baking sheet.

4.  Bake for 18 – 20 minutes or until golden brown.  Serve with warm gravy.

5.  Unbaked pies can be frozen for up to 1 month.  To freeze, place on a cookie sheet lined with a dish towel.  Cover with another towel and put in the freezer.  Once frozen, transfer to individual bags or vacuum seal.  When ready to eat, bake frozen pies for 30 – 32 minutes or until golden brown.

Thanksgiving Dinner Balls

Printable recipe here.

My husband came home last night telling me about these interesting turkey and stuffing balls a friend of ours had told him they had made to use up their leftovers.  I was intrigued and went on the search for a recipe and discovered that something similar had been featured on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives.  I tried to find the recipe, but I couldn’t find it anywhere and when I tried to watch the video I was alerted it wasn’t available in our region.  I did find some info about these ‘Thanksgiving Dinner in a Ball’ concoctions that listed they were made with turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, rolled in flour and fried.  I figured I could come up with something so here it is:

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb roasted turkey
  • 2 cups stuffing
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed potatoes
  • 2 Tbsp canola oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp water
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • Turkey gravy, warmed (for dipping or drizzling over balls)

Directions:

1.  Place turkey in a food processor.  Process until it is very finely chopped.  Place in a large bowl.

2.  Place stuffing in a food processor.  Process until it is very finely chopped.  Add to bowl with turkey.

3.  Add mashed potatoes to bowl.

4.  Combine ingredients until well blended.  I used my hands as it worked well to blend it as it reminded me of the consistency of meatballs.  Form into balls.

5.  Heat oil in a frying pan over medium heat.  Dip balls into egg, then roll in flour to coat and place in frying pan.  Fry for about 5 minutes until golden brown, stirring as they fry.  Enjoy.

 For a recipe made up on the fly I think these turned out really well.  I cooked only about a dozen of them today and am going to freeze the rest.  In the future I will definitely try to add some spices to the flour layer or even change up the outer layer, dipping it in the panko crumbs then baking in the oven rather than frying.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

