Beet Rolls

On Sunday afternoon my family and I headed over to my parent’s house to dig up the last of the potatoes from the garden for them.  While we were there I noticed there were still a lot of beet leaves left (and they didn’t look like frost had spoiled them) so I picked a couple dozen leaves with the intent of making beet rolls.  If you are not familiar with beet rolls, they are a traditional Ukrainian dish, made by wrapping beet leaves around bread dough and then baking and topping with a creamy dill sauce.  Admittedly they don’t look very appealing, but they really are, I swear.  I’ve made them a lot with my mom over the years so I knew what the ingredients were, but just needed some guidance in terms of amounts, so I stumbled on this recipe (yep, it’s from Jillian Harris’ blog – the Canadian bachelorette).

Beet Rolls

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients:

  • Fresh (or frozen, thawed) bread dough – recipe at the end of the post
  • 24 – 26 beet leaves
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • Salt & pepper, to taste
  • 1 Tbsp fresh dill
  • 1 clove garlic

Directions:

1.  Place the dough in a greased bowl, cover it with a towel and set it in a warm place to rise until doubled.

2.  Wash beet leaves and cut off stalks while the dough is rising.  Right before you are ready to make rolls, boil leaves for 30 seconds to make more pliable (not necessary, but stops the leaves from snapping during rolling).

3.  Pinch off small pieces of dough (I like to use scissors to cut it), about the size of a walnut and place a piece of dough in the center of one end of a leaf.  You can also flatten your dough out a little more before rolling, but that’s personal preference.

4.  Roll the beet leaf loosely around the dough.

5.  Place in a lightly greased roaster and line up rolls in a single (or double layer) in the dish.

6.  Cover and place in a warm area until the dough rises again.

7.  Cover the dish and bake at 350F for about 30 minute or until rolls are puffy and dough is slightly golden.

8.  Melt butter in a saucepan.  Add the cream, dill, and garlic.  Bring to a low boil and then reduce until ready to serve.

9.  Ladle the sauce over the rolls and then place in the oven for another 5 minutes.

The next time I make these, I will likely add more dill as my husband and I both love dill.

Quick Bread Dough

I found this recipe here and am happy I did because I needed dough that would be ready in a hurry.  I made a double batch as I wasn’t sure how much I would need, but it turns out a single batch would have been sufficient.

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp (1 packet) yeast
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 ½ cups flour
  • ½ cup boiling water
  • 1 Tbsp oil

Directions:
1. Add yeast, sugar, salt and flour to a food processor fitted with a blade attachment.
2. Process on low for 1 minute.
3. Slowly add water, then oil.
4. Process until dough is no longer sticking to the sides and forms a ball.
5. Remove dough and form into a ball.
6. Place in greased bowl and cover with a towel. Let rise in a warm place for about 45 minutes or until dough has doubled in size.

I found this dough to be sweet (not in a bad way), but just something to be aware of.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beet Rolls

  1. Pingback: Beer Can Chicken and Beet Rolls | The Dagenais Daily

Leave a Reply

