Perogy Casserole Recipe

I love perogies and so does my entire family.  So tonight we were stuck for supper ideas and then my husband suggested perogies.  So I took it one step further and made perogy casserole.  This is a recipe I got during one of my labs during my first year of Nutrition and Dietetics in university (for those of you that know me, this may be confusing, but I started out thinking I wanted to be a Dietitian, but then decided not to after taking a year in the program and instead finished up my studies with an Honours Degree in Microbiology and Immunology).  Anyways, back to the food!  I did add the bacon to this recipe though as (I know I’ve said it before) everything is better with bacon.

Perogy Casserole

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped celery
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup bacon, cooked and cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • 24 perogies (really you can use anywhere from 12 – 24 perogies)

Directions:

1.  While frying bacon, bring a pot of water to a boil for the perogies, and heat the oil in a small saucepan (or frying pan).

2.  Saute celery and onions in oil until desired consistency.  Stir together the mushroom soup and milk.  Add celery and onions to the mushroom soup and milk.

3.  Boil perogies for approximately five minutes.  Remove with a slotted spoon and let cool slightly if you want to cut them or place straight into a greased casserole dish if you want to leave them whole.

4.  When the bacon is done frying, place onto a plate covered with paper towel, and then let it cool.  Cut up about half of the bacon (enough to make up a 1/4 cup of bite sized pieces).

5.  Cut perogies in half.  Arrange in a greased casserole dish.

6.  Pour mushroom soup, milk, celery, and onion mixture over top.  Sprinkle with bacon.  Cover with cheese and bake at 350 degrees F for approximately 20 minutes or until thoroughly heated and cheese has melted.

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perogy Casserole Recipe

  1. Jana says:

    Sounds delicious… Other than the mushroom soup 😛 lol what do you think would make a good replacement? Cream of celery or chicken?

    • cdawnb says:

      I think either of those would work well. The chicken might blend better with the bacon, but I can’t say for sure.

Leave a Reply

