Green Tomato Salsa

A lot of the tomatoes my parents gave me were still green so I was on the hunt for recipes that use green tomatoes.  I came across this recipe for green tomato salsa and decided to give it a try as I figured it would be a great way to use plenty of tomatoes.  I did a test batch earlier this week using 2 lbs of tomatoes as I wanted to make sure it was good before I dove in and made a huge batch because it is very time consuming to dice all the tomatoes.  I passed along one of the jars I made earlier this week to a friend of mine that likes green tomato salsa.  It went over well with her (and me too) so today I made a large batch.

Green Tomato Salsa

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients:

  • 7 1/2 lbs green tomatoes, diced (large if you want chunky salsa)
  • 9 yellow onions, chopped (4 cups)
  • 4 1/2 jalapenos, chopped with seeds (1/2 cup)
  • 6 large red bell peppers, chopped (2 cups) – I used green as I had lots from my garden
  • 9 garlic cloves, minced (I used 1/2 tsp dehydrated, minced garlic)
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh cilantro, chopped (I omitted this as my family does not like cilantro)
  • 1 1/2 cups lime juice
  • 3/4 cup vinegar
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp salt
  • 3/4 Tbsp cumin
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp dried oregano leaves
  • 1 Tbsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (optional, to taste)
  • 2 tsp sugar

Directions:

1.  Dice tomatoes, removing seeds and excess liquid (if a thicker salsa is desired).  I tried to do my best to remove the majority of the seeds and liquid, but I began to slack off as the dicing went on as it’s a LONG process.

 

2.  Combine everything in a large pot, mixing well.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for 30-40 minutes, stirring occasionally.  (I strained out about 2 cups of excess liquid after it was done simmering as I didn’t want runny salsa).

3.  Bring to a boil right before ladling salsa into hot, sterile jars.  Leave 1/2 inch of headspace in each jar.  Wipe lid and jar edges clean before finger tightening lids and placing them back in the boiling canning pot.

4.  Boil for 15 minutes.

5.  Remove carefully and let sit for 24 hours.  Check lids for seal, and refrigerate any unsealed jars.  Makes 6-500 mL jars.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

