Cheese Biscuits and Chili

Keeping with the theme of warm comfort food to deal with this chilly fall weather, I decided to make some chili in the slow cooker.  I wanted to serve something with the chili, but couldn’t quite decide what.  Then I remembered a recipe I love that I have not made in quite some time.  The recipe is called Best Cheese Biscuits and there is a claim on the recipe that they taste just like the ones at Red Lobster.  I can’t say for sure if they are a dead ringer, but they are close and they are oh so yummy, especially when they are still warm!

Best Cheese Biscuits

Printable recipe here.

(Adapted from the For the Breasts and the Rest of Friends – 2nd cookbook)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup butter or shortening
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup old cheddar cheese, grated (I buy big blocks of cheese, grate them, and freeze in 1 cup portions for use in cooking)
  • 1 Tbsp parsley flakes
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder (or to taste)

Directions:

1. In a large bowl mix the flour, baking powder, salt, and parsley flakes.

2. Blend in butter or shortening until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

3.  Add milk and cheese.  Stir until just blended.

4. Drop by heaping spoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet.

5. Bake in 450 degree F oven for 12 – 15 minutes or until golden.  Remove from the oven and brush with the 1/4 cup melted butter and 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder mixture.

 

6. Enjoy!

 

Makes 12 biscuits (or more depending on how large or small you make them).  Sometimes I even use this recipe to put on top of homemade chicken pot pie.

Homemade Chili

I have to be honest, I have no real recipe for my chili, just a list of ingredients I always put in my chili.  I do not measure my spices, but rather just add and adjust to my taste (I have a rough idea of how much I add of each, so I will give approximations).  Consequently, each time I serve my chili, it tastes slightly different.  But I’ve never totally botched a batch.

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs ground beef
  • 2 (14 oz) cans beans in tomato sauce
  • 2 (10 oz) cans condensed tomato soup
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 – 1 Tbsp Chili powder (to taste)
  • 1 tsp Onion powder (optional)
  • 1 tsp Hot pepper sauce (optional)
  • 1 tsp Prepared yellow mustard
  • 1 Tbsp Ketchup

Directions:

1.  Brown ground beef in a skillet over medium heat on the stove.  Drain fat.

2.  Add browned beef to slow cooker.  Add the remaining ingredients.  Stir and let simmer on low for at least 4 hours.

3.  Serve by itself or topped with grated cheese.  Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cheese Biscuits and Chili

  1. Pingback: Chicken Pot Pie | The Dagenais Daily

  2. can you add ziplist to your blog so i can save more of your posts!!!

  3. we need to put your blog on a hosted server, not wordpress.. i can do or can that talented hubby of yours do? btw.. these cheese biscuits are fantastic!!

Leave a Reply

