Pulled Pork with Two Hour Buns and Sweet Potato Fries

I’ve had a pork roast sitting in the freezer for a while and haven’t been able to decide what to make with it.  Then yesterday I had an aha moment when I decided I should make pulled pork.  This decision was made even easier because I made a batch of baked potato soup and baked some fresh buns to go with it.  The pulled pork was supposed to be yesterday’s supper but I didn’t come up with the idea until the afternoon and let’s just say the roast took longer than the 4 – 5 hours stated in the recipe.  This recipe also appealed to me because I was cleaning out the pantry the other day and noticed I had a stockpile of BBQ sauce I had purchased for cheap when it went on sale and this would be a great excuse to use some of it up.

Pulled Pork

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients:

  • Pork roast
  • Seasoning salt
  • Can of Pepsi or Coke (or other soda such as Root Beer or Dr. Pepper)
  • BBQ sauce (about 3/4 of a bottle

Directions:

1.  Coat the pork roast with seasoning salt.

2.  Place the roast in the slow cooker and add the Pepsi and BBQ sauce.

3.  Let it simmer on low for 8 – 10 hours.  Shred with 2 forks, then let it sit in the sauce on low or keep warm for another half hour.

4.  Serve on a bun or by itself and enjoy!

Two Hour Buns

Printable recipe here.

I came across this recipe yesterday and figured I would give it a try as it was quick and easy.  And I have to say it’s a keeper.  Sorry I don’t have any pictures of the process as I was kind of in a hurry to get them made.  But I will try to post more pictures next time I make them.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups warm water (around 110 degrees F)
  • 4 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup solid vegetable shortening
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 6 1/2 cups all purpose flour, divided

Garnish (optional)

  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tsp water
  • sesame seeds

Directions:

1.  Combine water, yeast, sugar, shortening, eggs, salt, and 2 cups of flour in the bowl of your stand mixer.  Beat with the paddle attachment until mostly smooth (about 2 minutes).

2.  Switch to the dough hook and gradually add the remaining 4 1/2 cups of flour.  Knead with the dough hook on medium-low speed until the dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl.  If the dough is sticky, add up to 1/4 cup additional flour.  Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured counter and knead a couple of times to form a smooth ball.  Place the dough in a greased bowl and cover lightly with plastic wrap.  Put in a warm place to rise until the dough is light and doubled; about 1 hour.  (I had put my oven on warm, then shut it off and let the dough sit in the bowl inside the partially warmed oven and it worked well.

3.  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

4.  Punch the dough down.  Cut the dough into 2 1/2 – 3 ounce pieces.  Smack each piece against the counter once or twice to degas the dough.  Bring the edges of the dough down to the bottom and pinch tightly.  Place the rolls, seam side down, 2-3 inches apart onto baking sheets.  Gently press down on each roll to flatten slightly (I may have forgotten to do this as I was rushing).  Cover the trays with a damp towel and allow to rise until they feel soft and light; 20 – 3o minutes.

5.  Prepare the egg wash (if desired) by beating together the remaining egg and 1 teaspoon of water.

6.  Brush the tops and sides of the rolls with the egg wash and sprinkle with sesame seeds.  Place the rolls into the preheated oven and bake for 15 minutes until golden brown.  Move to wire racks and cool completely.

Makes approximately 20 rolls

Sweet Potato Fries

If you are wondering which recipe I used to make my sweet potato fries, it’s right here on my blog.  If you are looking for a printable version of the recipe, that can be found here.

This meal was a delicious combination that I am sure we will be enjoying again!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pulled Pork with Two Hour Buns and Sweet Potato Fries

  1. Pingback: Pulled Pork with Two Hour Buns and Sweet Potato Fries | The …: Vege Bun ~ Vege Food on Vege Bun, Vegetarian Bun, Veggie Bun, Vegan Bun, Vege Life Products, Vege Baking Buns, Vege Pastry Buns

Leave a Reply

