Sushi Splurge Night – The Full Post

As a follow-up to my teaser post, here is the full post.  It will include not only sushi preparations, but also a yummy drink recipe, and a chocolate zucchini cake recipe.

I recently discovered I could make my own Starbucks passion tea lemonade, thanks to this post.  I made some slight modifications as the packs of tea in Canada only come with 15 tea bags.  So here is my version:

Passion tea lemonade:

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients:

To make chilled tea:

  • 15 Tazo passion tea bags (full tin)
  • 4 liters of water

Simple Syrup:

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup granulated sugar

Passion tea lemonade:

  • 9 oz chilled tea
  • 3 oz lemonade
  • 1 1/2 tsp simple syrup
  • Ice cubes

Directions:

1. Boil 4 liters of water.

2. Add 15 Tazo passion tea bags to pitcher.  Pour boiling water over tea bags.

3. Let steep for 7 – 10 minutes.  The longer it steeps, the stronger it will be.

4. Once it is finished steeping, remove tea bags using two spoons to squeeze out excess.

5. Place pitcher in the fridge to cool overnight.

6.  Make syrup by combining sugar and water in a saucepan; Boil for 1 minute;  Place in fridge to cool.

7. Make the passion tea lemonade by combining 9 oz tea, 3 oz lemonade, and 1 1/2 tsp of simple syrup.

8.  If you want to be fancy like they are in the store, place in a drink shaker and shake to make it nice and frothy.

9.  Pour over ice and enjoy!

Now onto sushi preparations:

Sushi Rice:

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients: (I recommend quadrupling the recipe if you are making a lot of sushi for a party.)

  • 1 cup sushi rice
  • 1 1/4 cups cold water
  • 2 Tbsp seasoned sushi vinegar

Directions:

1.  Rinse rice under cold water until water runs clear.

2.  Combine rice with cold water in a rice cooker.

3.  Let rice rest for a few minutes before moving to a non-metallic bowl or as I preferred, a glass rectangular baking dish.  Add sushi vinegar and stir to ensure it gets evenly distributed.

4.  Let cool.  I put my rice in the fridge, with a cover over it, and didn’t find it dried out at all.

Here’s a list of the ingredients I made sure to have on hand, and how I prepared them (if necessary).

1. Avocado

To prepare the avocado for sushi, I cut it in half lengthwise, then twisted it to separate the two halves.

Then I removed the pit, by sticking the butt of my knife into the pit and pulling gently.

Then I held one half of the avocado in my hand and cut thin slices (without cutting through the skin).

Then I cut in half again following one of the lines I had cut.  Then you simply slide a fork along between the flesh of the avocado and the skin and you are left with pieces that look like this:

2. Carrots

I simply peeled some garden fresh carrots.  Then sliced them up very thinly and steamed them for 5 minutes to soften them just slightly.

3. Cucumbers

I used baby english cucumbers.  I simply peeled them, halved them lengthwise.  Then cut into thin slices.  If they were too thick, I would simply halve the pieces again lengthwise.

4. Cream cheese

I cut a brick of cream cheese in half.  Then I sliced off a thin slice along one of the edges.  Then I would cut that piece into thin slices.  I repeated this until the half brick was all cut up.  I put the cream cheese on wax paper to prevent it from sticking together.

Seafood and meats for sushi:

5. Imitation crab

I bought a package of pressed imitation crab meat from the grocery store.  I simply separated the pieces and served them as is.

6. Shrimp

To prepare the shrimp, I removed the tails and cut them in half lengthwise.

7. Smoked salmon

The smoked salmon was frozen when I bought it, so I simply let it thaw out, then I separated it where it naturally wanted to separate (no knife needed).

8. Bulgogi style beef

Prepared using this recipe, with some slight modifications:

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb top sirloin, thinly sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp sesame seeds
  • 1/3 of a kiwi, chopped.

Directions:

1. Marinate the top sirloin with the garlic, red wine vinegar, soy sauce, sesame oil, sesame seeds, and kiwi.  The kiwi is used to tenderize the meat (and can be used to tenderize all red meat).  Let it marinate in the fridge for 2 hours, but no longer, because the kiwi will break down the meat too much.

2. Heat 1 Tbsp olive oil in a pan on the oven.  Cook beef.

9. Sesame seeds

These came ready prepared from a local seafood market.

10. Wasabi

I simply added water to some wasabi powder (also purchased from a local seafood market) to make a paste.

11. Soya sauce

12. Nori (seaweed) sheets

Materials to have on hand:

1. Bamboo mats (for rolling the sushi) – along with paddles for scooping and spreading rice

2. Soya sauce bowls

3. Chopsticks

4. Cutting board with bowl of water to dip sharp, serrated knife when cutting sushi rolls

5. Laminated instructions for making sushi rolls (not necessary, but they were an excuse for me to play with my new laminator).  I found these instructions here.

Here are some of the finished rolls the ladies and I made:

Chocolate zucchini cake with chocolate ganache icing

I found this yummy recipe here and figured it would be a yummy treat to enjoy after feasting on some sushi.  And it was!

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 3/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup sour cream or yogurt (update: I now use 2% plain Greek yogurt)
  • 2 1/2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup cocoa
  • 2 cups shredded zucchini
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

For the ganache icing

Ingredients:

  • 6 oz old fashioned whipping cream
  • 9 oz chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.  Spray 9 x 13 pan with non-stick spray.

2. In a large mixing bowl, cream together the butter, oil, sugar, vanilla, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

3. Beat in the eggs

4. Stir in the sour cream or yogurt alternately with the flour, starting and ending with flour.  Add the cocoa, mixing until smooth.  Finally, fold in the zucchini and 1/2 cup chocolate chips using a spatula.

5.  Scrape the batter from the mixing bowl into the prepared pan.  Bake the cake for 35 – 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Remove the cake from the oven and place pan on a rack to cool.

6. To make the ganache, heat the cream in a saucepan over medium heat until simmering.  Remove from heat and pour over the chocolate chips.  Stir to combine.  Keep stirring until you have a smooth, chocolatey mixture in the bowl.  It will seem runny at first and you will likely think you screwed something up, but just keep stirring.  The ganache will thicken as it cools, so you will want to let it cool for a little before pouring over the cake (or dipping cupcakes into it if you are making cupcakes).  Then simply spread it around with an offset spatula and allow it to set for about 30 minutes before serving. Enjoy!

Ready to eat:

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sushi Splurge Night – The Full Post

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Cakes, Cupcakes, and Ganache | The Dagenais Daily

  2. Wendy says:

    Where did you pick up all your supplies Crystal? I am thinking about a sushi night…

Leave a Reply

