Vertical Garden – The Final Harvest

The weather network is calling for frost tonight so my husband and daughter were nice enough to pick all the remaining fruits and vegetables out of the garden.  There was a lot more left in the garden than I thought there was, but they were great workers and got it all picked for me.

If you are new to my blog and aren’t sure exactly what I’m talking about when I refer to my vertical garden, here’s my first post about it.

I spent some time this evening washing and sorting the harvest:

My daughter noticed what I was doing and perched herself on one of the stools by the counter, eager to enjoy some more garden fresh goods:

Overall, the garden was great. I loved having fresh fruits and veggies to enjoy throughout the summer. And the kids loved it even more. My son has just been starting to talk this summer and saying more words, and every time we were out in the yard he would run up to the garden and point at the strawberry plants and yell out “berry” until I gave him one. I love that the kids loved the garden so much. Can’t complain when your kids are asking for healthy snacks.

Next year, I will definitely plant a garden, but will likely omit some of the plants that didn’t produce as much or weren’t around as long, such as the zucchini, lettuce, and the rhubarb (if it doesn’t come back next year). I will definitely increase the number of pea plants, strawberries, and carrots as those are all the kids favorites.

I loved my vertical garden and it is definitely a great solution for people living in small yards that still want to garden.  It needs more watering that a typical garden, because the soil in the boxes dries out a lot quicker, but it doesn’t take long to water.  When we weren’t busy on vacation, I was watering on a daily basis.  This may seem like a lot of work, but it did not take long and when you consider the fact that there is almost no weeding to be done, it requires very little work and time.

This entry was posted in Outdoor projects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vertical Garden – The Final Harvest

  1. Paula Updegrave says:

    I thought you might like to know that you can plant lettuce and when it is done just plant the zucchini in its spot. You might even be able to put lettuce back in if the zuke quits. Lettuce likes it cool and early and the zuke likes more heat. The rhubarb should come back- you might even think about just putting it and the zucchini under your vertical garden- which looks really neat by the way.

    • cdawnb says:

      Thanks! We are actually building a house on an acreage right now so I will have a huge garden space and can use all the gardening tips I can get.

Leave a Reply

