Slow-Cooked Italian Chicken

Tonight I was in the mood for some pasta and chicken.  And I decided this early enough in the day that I was able to make a slow cooker dish I have not made in quite a long time.  I am trying to cut down on the amount of meat that most recipes call for as I don’t feel most recipes need as much as they recommend (at least when it comes to chicken) and I want to help trim the grocery budget.  For this recipe, I cut the amount of meat in half and when I told my husband he was surprised as he felt there was still plenty.

Here is the recipe: (from More Slow Cooker Classics)

Ingredients:

  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (I used 2)
  • 1 can (14-1/2 ounces) chicken broth
  • 1 can (14-1/2 ounces) stewed tomatoes, cut up
  • 1 can (8 ounces) tomato sauce
  • 1 medium green pepper, chopped
  • 1 green onion, chopped (I omitted this as my husband is not a fan)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 3 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground mustard
  • 1/2 tsp garlic salt or garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion salt or onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp pepper (I forgot to add the pepper this time around)
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cold water
  • Hot, cooked penne

Directions:

1. Place chicken in a 3-qt slow cooker (obviously the one I used was larger as that is the only size I have).

2. In a bowl, combine the broth, tomatoes, tomato sauce, green pepper, onion, garlic, and seasonings; pour over chicken.

3. Cover and cook on low for 4-5 hours or until a meat thermometer reads 170 degrees F. (8 hours is the shortest amount of time my slow cooker can be set on low for, so please ignore the timer on my slow cooker).

4. Remove chicken and keep warm.  Pour cooking juices into a large saucepan;  skim fat;  Combine flour and cold water until smooth; stir into juices.  Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened.  Serve with chicken and pasta.

Yield: 4 servings

This is the first time the kids have seemed to really enjoy this dish. I am wondering if it’s because I forgot the pepper as it was lacking a bit of the kick this dish normally has. Either way it was at least as good or even better than I remembered it being the last time I made it.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

