Grilled Salmon Steaks

I feel like I’ve been neglecting my blog, but I did still keep up with pictures while we were on holidays, now I just need to find the time to do the posts.  Until then here is a post about the meal we enjoyed last night.

I knew I wanted rice for supper, but I knew I would have to come up with something to accompany the rice.  So I looked through one of my cookbooks for inspiration and found a recipe for grilled salmon steaks and I knew that’s what I was going to make.  Sorry if the picture quality is not great as I took the pictures with my iPhone because the decision to make this for supper was pretty last minute.

Here’s the recipe (from Company’s Coming Barbecues cookbook):

  • 2 Salmon steaks

Chili Marinade

 

  • 1/2 cup vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp chili sauce (I made my own using this recipe as I didn’t have any on hand)
  • 2 Tbsp cooking oil
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder

Instructions:

  1. Thaw fish if frozen
  2. For the marinade: In shallow pan mix together remaining ingredients.  Marinate about 20 minutes, turning occasionally.  Place steaks on well greased, medium hot grill for about 5 – 6 minutes per side.  Baste often.  Fish should flake easily when tested with a fork.  Serves 4.

This was delicious.  Neither the salmon nor the marinade were overpowering but rather they complemented each other nicely.  I cooked some rice and we enjoyed some garden fresh cucumber as well and it made for a nice light meal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

