Camping Meal Prep

I spent the majority of the day yesterday prepping meals for our next big camping trip we have coming up as I want to have to spend the smallest amount of time possible doing meal prep while we are on our trip.  It was a surprisingly productive day even though both kids were home.  They spent lots of time on the trampoline, playing outside, and playing with toys to keep themselves entertained.  Thank goodness!

Here are the meals I have planned (so far) for the camping trip: teriyaki chicken, bacon fried rice, stuffed peppers, sweet and spicy bacon chicken, chicken kabobs, lasagna roll ups, chili, creole chops, slow cooker taco chicken (for making fajitas), and meatballs.  The only things I didn’t prep yesterday were the meatballs and chili as I made large batches of both a couple of weeks ago.

The recipes for both the teriyaki chicken and bacon fried rice can be found here. I cooked the rice for both the bacon fried rice and the stuffed peppers early in the day so it would be cool and ready when it came time to make the peppers and bacon fried rice.  For the teriyaki chicken I simply added all the ingredients to a large freezer bag and will thaw it out and throw it in the slow cooker when I am ready to cook it.  I prepared the bacon fried rice, let it cool, then divided into two freezer bags and will just reheat it when we want to eat it.

Next, I worked on the stuffed peppers. The recipe for these can be found here.  I simply filled the peppers with the rice mixture and then froze them so they can be cooked in the oven or over the campfire later.

For the sweet and spicy bacon chicken, I simply cut up frozen chicken breasts into strips, then put them back into the freezer and put all the spices needed into a small container so when it comes time to make the chicken, all I have to do is thaw, season, wrap in bacon and cover in brown sugar.

For the chicken kabobs, I simply cut the chicken into cubes, so when I want to make the kabobs (as I have a few different recipes in mind) I just have to thread them onto skewers, marinate, and cook.

Next up, were the lasagna roll-ups. They were fun to make, and were pretty yummy too as we sampled some for supper last night (despite the fact that my husband complained there was too much spinach). I will try to do a full post on these after we get back from our trip, but for now here are some pictures.

For the creole chops, I simply took pork chops out of the freezer, added the ingredients for the sauce and then put them back into the freezer. I will try to do a full post on this recipe as well after our trip.

The slow cooker taco chicken is such a simple recipe I will just list it here:

  • 2.5 lbs chicken breasts
  • 2 cups of chicken broth
  • 2 packets of taco seasoning

To make the slow cooker taco chicken, simply add the chicken broth to the slow cooker.  Then stir in the taco seasoning.  Add the chicken breasts and cook on low 6-8 hours.  Then shred chicken using two forks.  If you want to freeze it for later, just put in freezer bags (along with juices).  Then you have delicious chicken ready whenever you want fajitas, nachos, etc.  Which is what I plan to use it for.

I am very happy that I was able to get all these meals prepped and am looking forward to eating more than just hot dogs and hamburgers on this camping trip. Here are a few pictures of all the meals:

This entry was posted in Camping/Vacations, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

