Chicken and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

I was feeling like trying out a new recipe tonight and preferably something light as the heat seems to curb my appetite a bit (yay).  So I saw this great recipe on Pinterest today and decided to give it a try.  I did make a few modifications such as omitting the celery so I will write up the recipe as I made it.  Please forgive my lack of pictures as I was sort of rushing to get supper ready tonight as I was out running errands until 5 and then realized the peppers needed to bake for almost an hour.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (10 oz) of cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 tablespoon onion soup mix
  • 3 chicken breasts, cooked and cubed
  • 3 cups cooked rice
  • 3 large bell peppers (I used two red and one yellow)
  • 1 teaspoon lemon pepper seasoning
  • 1 1/4 cups shredded marble cheese

Directions:

  1. I prepared the chicken and rice ahead of time so I didn’t have so much work to do during the witching hour.  Simmer chicken breasts in a saucepan for 20 minutes with 2 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water.  Dice and store in the fridge until ready to stuff the peppers.
  2. Cook rice in a rice cooker and put in the fridge until ready to stuff the peppers.
  3. Heat mushroom soup, chicken broth, and onion soup mix in a saucepan until it bubbles.
  4. Stir in chicken.  Heat through.
  5. Stir in rice, remove from heat.
  6. To assemble: halve peppers and remove stems, seeds, and membranes.
  7. Place pepper halves, cut side up on a foil lined baking sheet.
  8. Divide chicken/rice mixture among peppers (I had some extra, so I just gave that to the kids).
  9. Sprinkle with lemon pepper seasoning.
  10. Bake peppers, loosely covered with foil at 350 degrees for 55 minutes or until heated through.
  11. Remove foil, sprinkle cheese on top of each pepper.  Return to the oven for 5 more minutes until the cheese is melted.  Enjoy!

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

  1. Pingback: Camping Meal Prep | The Dagenais Daily

Leave a Reply

