Puff Pastry Plus Pie Filling = Yummy

Last night I decided to come up with a way to use up some pie filling that was left over after we made bush pies on our last camping trip.  My first thought was to make tarts, but when I looked through the freezer there were no tart shells to be found.  But while looking for tart shells I discovered a package of puff pastry that was in the freezer.  I figured I could make it work with the pie filling so I let it defrost and went to work.

Since it was about 10 pm when I decided to start making these, I wanted to make the process go quickly, so I didn’t really take any pictures of the process (that and I wasn’t really sure it would turn out).  But here’s some instructions as they were very delicious.  Too delicious in fact, that I’m sure I polished off at least a dozen of them before noon today.  They remind me of strudels, but they don’t fall apart and make a big mess every time you take a bite.

Ingredients:

  • Tenderflake frozen puff pastry
  • Pie filling
  • Egg (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Defrost puff pastry
  2. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  3. Roll out puff pastry on lightly floured surface, until it’s roughly a square.
  4. Cut into 12 squares (I used a pizza cutter).
  5. Spoon a small amount of pie filling along one edge of the square, then roll the square over onto itself to make a roll.
  6. Pinch the edge together to seal the roll.  You could also brush egg onto the end of the square to help seal it.
  7. Then cut 3 or 4 slits in the top and egg wash the top (if desired)
  8. Place onto a parchment lined baking sheet and bake for 15 – 20 minutes.
  9. Enjoy!


 

 

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

