My Little Flower Girl

Last weekend my daughter got to be a flower girl for the first time.  I wanted her dress to co-ordinate with the wedding party so I got a sample of the colour so I could find some matching ribbon.  Then it was time to find a dress and after looking online I came to the conclusion there was no way I was spending anywhere from $75 to $90 on a dress she would only wear once.  So my husband suggested I check out a used store for a dress and I lucked out and found one for $11.  It had orange ribbon on it, but I figured it would be easy enough to change and it was.  Since they just ironed the ribbon on with no sew material it was easy to remove.

 

 

 

 

 

Once I had the ribbon removed I also used no sew material and an iron to put the new ribbon on (I was pressed for time and working on this the night before the wedding).  I also didn’t bother putting any coloured ribbon on the back of the dress as I liked the look of it without the coloured ribbon added (and I was pressed for time).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also bought a headband for her to wear as she still does not have enough hair to put in clips or barrettes of any sort.  Then I bought the thinner version of the same color ribbon I used for the dress, secured it on one end of the headband with a hot glue gun, then wrapped the ribbon around and once I got all the way around, I secured the other end of the ribbon to the headband.

 

 

 

 

 

I wasn’t quite sure she would understand exactly what she was supposed to be doing, but she did so good.  Once I figure out how to get my videos off my phone onto my blog, I will post a video.  In the meantime, here is a picture of her even though she did not want me to take a picture of her and consequently would not stand still:

 

This entry was posted in Craft projects, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

