Sweet and Spicy Bacon Chicken

I have to laugh because as I am making this post I can’t help but think about a status update my brother-in-law made about something his wife said today.  He said her quote of the day was “bacon just makes everything better”!  I couldn’t agree more Jana.  Following a long stretch of rainy days I was getting very eager to get out and bbq and I got thinking about a recipe I pinned a while back for sweet and spicy bacon chicken, and it was soooooo good!  My husband told me I can make this whenever I want.  And of course I needed side dishes that were also bbq friendly, so I made my favorite corn on the cob recipe, and baked potatoes.  The barbecue was very full tonight!

Sweet and Spicy Bacon Chicken

This recipe just listed spices and brown sugar, with no measurements for the spices, so I did what I always do and read the comments and found suggested amounts for the spices.  Just to be on the safe side, I doubled the measurements.  It was a little more than I needed, but I think if you actually used the 4 chicken breasts recommended, rather than the three I used, it would be just right.

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken breasts, cut into thirds (12 pieces)
  • 12 bacon slices
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar

 

Directions:


 

 

  1. Preheat bbq to 400 degrees.
  2. Mix all spices together in a small bowl.  Sprinkle over the chicken and then flip chicken to coat all sides.
  3. Wrap each piece of chicken using one strip of bacon.  I sort of tucked the ends under as I wrapped to keep them from coming off.
  4. Place on top of brown sugar and rub in.  Then sprinkle some more on top and rub it in.
  5. Grill until juices run clear, flipping once.  I think it took about 15 minutes.  Sorry, I wasn’t really watching the clock.

This was a family favorite.  Even my daughter enjoyed it (after picking the bacon off, I know, crazy, right?!), but I had to serve it to her on a stick (skewer).  I had forgotten this little trick, but was reminded of it last night when we had souvlaki.  She had no interest in the chicken until I told her she could have hers on a stick.  Then she polished off two pieces of chicken in addition to a cob of corn.  I did not mind one bit that she didn’t want the bacon as it meant more for me!

 Corn on the Cob (from Company’s Coming Barbecue Cookbook)

I love this recipe, the soy sauce makes it salty and there is just the right amount of margarine that you don’t have to do anything other than eat it once it’s done cooking.

Ingredients: (I only made a half recipe tonight as we only needed 3 cobs of corn)

  • 6 corn cobs
  • 6 tablespoons butter or margarine, softened
  • 2 teaspoons soy sauce

Directions:

  1. Remove husks and silk from corn cobs
  2. Mix butter and soy sauce together.  Spread over corn.  Wrap each cob in a generous amount of foil (so it wraps around twice).  Cook on grill, turning 1/4 turn every three minutes.  Makes 6 servings

 

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sweet and Spicy Bacon Chicken

  1. Jana D says:

    YUMMM!!! I love this post 🙂 And umm I thought Kirsten loved bacon?!

    • cdawnb says:

      She does, just not when it’s cooked on the bbq, because the ends got a little crispy. So she said it was “scratchy” so she didn’t like it! Lol!

  2. Pingback: Camping Meal Prep | The Dagenais Daily

Leave a Reply

