Tonight’s Supper- Greek Food

Tonight I did some last-minute meal planning as I was trying to think up a way to use up the big bag of potatoes I have sitting in the pantry.  Then it came to me, I love lemon roasted potatoes, and what better way to use up some of these potatoes.  So I found this recipe online for Greek style roasted lemon potatoes and decided to give it a try.  Then I figured I might as well make some more Greek food to go with it, so I made some chicken souvlaki and tzatziki sauce.  It was all really good.  I now have another meal for my supper rotation!

Greek Style Lemon Roasted Potatoes

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1-1/2 cups water
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped (I used minced, dehydrated garlic)
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 2 cubes chicken bouillon (I used 2 heaping teaspoons chicken bouillon powder)
  • Ground black pepper, to taste
  • 6 potatoes, peeled and quartered (I cut mine into eighths).

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. In a small bowl, mix olive oil, water, garlic, lemon juice, thyme, rosemary, chicken bouillon powder, and pepper.
  3. Arrange potatoes evenly in the bottom of a medium baking dish.  Pour the olive oil mixture over the potatoes.  Cover and bake 1-1/2 to 2 hours in the preheated oven, turning occasionally, until tender but firm.
  4. About one half hour before the potatoes were done cooking, I poured additional lemon juice over the potatoes as I felt the lemon flavor was somewhat lacking.  The addition of the lemon juice made them just perfect.

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Souvlaki

  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (cut into 1 inch pieces)

Tzatziki Sauce

  • 1/2 cucumber, peeled, seeded and coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt (I used sour cream because I didn’t have plain yogurt)
  • 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 garlic clove, minced

Preparation:

  1. To prepare souvlaki, combine the first five ingredients in a Ziploc bag.  Seal the bag and shake to blend ingredients.  Add chicken to the bag;  Seal and shake to coat.  Marinate chicken in the refrigerator for 30 minutes, turning once.
  2. Remove chicken from the bag; discard marinade.  Thread the chicken onto 5 skewers.
  3. Bake in the oven @350 degrees for 15-20 minutes, turning once.

Tzatziki Sauce

 

 

 

  1. Puree minced garlic and cucumber in a food processor.
  2. Strain mixture to get out all the liquid.
  3. Combine cucumber and garlic mixture, yogurt, lemon juice, and salt.  Enjoy!


This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

