Slow Cooker Suppers

I’ve been getting a bit behind on my meal posts, so tonight will be a 2 for 1.  Both of these meals happen to be slow cooker meals.  I know I’ve probably said it before but I love slow cooker meals for two reasons in particular: less dishes to do and I don’t have to be busy making supper during “the witching hour”.  I used to think the witching hour was a myth, but almost every day that last hour before my husband is home from work the kids are fussy and at my feet while I’m trying to get a meal ready.  Not when I’m using the slow cooker though.  When I use the slow cooker I either assemble everything and throw it in the fridge the night before or get it all ready while I’m busy making lunch.

Saucy chicken thighs:

  • 9 bone-in chicken thighs (I’ve used boneless too and had good results)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1-1/2 cups bbq sauce
  • 2 teaspoons prepared mustard
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/8 to 1/2 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
  1. Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper.  Place on a broiler pan.  Broil 4-5 inches from the heat for 3 – 4 minutes on each side or until lightly browned.  Transfer to a 5-qt slow cooker.
  2. In a small bowl, combine the bbq sauce, honey, mustard, Worcestershire sauce and pepper sauce.  Cover and cook on low for 4-5 hours or until meat is tender.
Peachy Pork Chops
  • 2 bone-in center-cut pork loin chops (I used 6 boneless pork loin chops)
  • 2 teaspoons canola oil
  • 1 can (8-1/4 ounces) sliced peaches
  • 1 can (8 ounces) tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried rosemary, crushed
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried basil
  • Dash to 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  1. In a small skillet, brown pork chops in oil; drain.  Transfer to a 5 quart slow cooker
  2. Drain peaches, reserving juice.  In a bowl, combine the tomato sauce, water, soy sauce, rosemary, thyme, basil, cayenne and reserved peach juice; pour over pork.  Top with peaches.  Cover and cook low for 5 hours or until pork is tender.  
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

