Banana Bread

A little while ago I tried out a recipe for healthier banana bread using applesauce that I liked, but I didn’t have any applesauce in the house and I had some bananas that needed to be made into banana bread.  So here is a less healthy version, but it is the banana bread recipe I have been using for years.

It’s from the Company’s Coming Light Recipes Cookbook

  • 1 cup Mashed bananas (3 medium)
  • 1 teaspoon Baking soda
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup margarine, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  1. In a small bowl stir the mashed banana and baking soda together.  Set aside.
  2. Beat eggs in a small mixing bowl until frothy.
  3. Cream margarine and sugar in large mixing bowl.  Add 1/2 eggs.  Beat to mix.  Add second 1/2 eggs.  Beat in.  Stir in mashed banana.
  4. Add flour, baking powder, and salt.  Stir to moisten.  Spoon into 9 x 5 inch loaf pan that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.  Bake in 350 degrees F* oven for about 1 hour until a wooden pick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cut into slices and enjoy!

I like to add chocolate chips to my banana bread.  And sometimes I even like to add dried cranberries, or chopped walnuts or pecans.

*The loaf pan I have is a dark, non-stick pan so I like to reduce my oven temperature to 325 degrees F.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banana Bread

  1. Kris says:

    This is my fave banana bread recipe, but I now use olive oil and use about half the sugar.

Leave a Reply

