Our little man is 1!

Yesterday was a very special day as it was the day we celebrated the first birthday of our son.  It’s amazing how fast the time goes by.  It’s hard to believe our little man is now a toddler.  We celebrated his birthday with plenty of family and had a great time!

I had a fun time planning for his party and his party marked a first for me as well.  It was the first time I ever attempted working with fondant and made my first fondant decorated cake.  There have been a couple of posts leading up to this post, including my post on marshmallow fondant and marble cake.  Both of which were used for his birthday cake.  The pound cake was so nice to work with when it came to cutting it to get it level and moving it around.  It was a lot less fragile than cakes I have worked with in the past.  And it was moist, flavorful, and pretty with all the swirls of chocolate in the vanilla cake.

The first step in making the cake was to get it nice and level:

 

 

 

 

Then it was time to ice the cake with a thin layer of buttercream icing and cover in fondant and smooth it all out:

When it came to how I was going to decorate the cake, I got my inspiration from this picture.  I wanted to do a similar design but not using the exact train, plane, and car.  So I found clipart pictures that I liked, printed them out, then outlined the designs onto the fondant using a tool that made little pin point marks.  I would then cut out the designs using a plastic fondant knife, pizza cutter (if I had a long straight edge to cut) and little round fondant cutter.  Then once I had the designs cut out, I would place them onto their squares and add more layers of fondant for the details:

 

 

 

 

Train all cut out

 

 

 

 

 

To get the fondant to stick to itself, I had a little bowl of water and a decorator’s paintbrush handy.  I would then just paint the back of the object with water and then put it down where it needed to be.  This really made everything stick together nicely.  You just have to try to be careful not to use too much water or put it in the wrong place as the water marks will show on your finished cake.  It was a time-consuming, but fun process and I’m very happy with how the cake turned out, seeing as it was my first attempt at working with fondant.  Here are some more pictures of the process:

When it came to decorations and other food for the party I wanted to keep things simple.  So for food, there were fruit skewers, vegetables, dips, sausage, cheese and crackers:
I saw a fun idea for serving the skewers online.  If using watermelon in your skewers (which I did), scoop out one half of the watermelon, place it flat side down and stab the skewers into the watermelon.  Also, I served a few different kinds of cheese and wanted a way to label it that would be re-usable.  To do that, I had bought some Martha Stewart dry erase labels, that can be re-positioned and re-used as many times as you like.
And my decorations were also minimalist with a banner and a few toys surrounding the cake:
And last but not least, you can’t have a first birthday party without a few pictures of the messy cake eating (yes I made him his own personal little cake):
Once he was done with the cake (at which point he threw it onto the floor) he decided to taste the plate!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our little man is 1!

  1. Jana D says:

    Awesome – it was a wonderful birthday party! What a handsome little 1 year old!

Leave a Reply

