Pumpkin Spice Latte

Today I was craving a pumpkin spice latte in the worst way, but didn’t feel like driving to a Starbucks to get one.  I knew I had a can of pumpkin in the pantry so I decided to look for some homemade pumpkin spice latte recipes.  The first recipe I made early this afternoon and it was good, but I felt compelled to try another recipe.  I am drinking the second one right now as I type up this post and I think this one is the winner (at least in my opinion).

Pumpkin Spice Latte 1

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 cup very strong coffee (4 Tbsp coffee grounds to 1 cup hot water)
  • 2 Tbsp vanilla
  • 4 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice or 1 cinnamon stick
  • 2 heaping spoonfuls of pumpkin

Directions:

1.  Pour all of the ingredients into a pot and heat over medium-high heat until steaming hot, whisking with a wire whisk until the ingredients are incorporated and a little frothy (or you can cheat like me and put some of the milk in a frother if you have one)

2.  Pour into mugs and top with fresh whipped cream & cinnamon.  Enjoy!

Makes 2 servings.

Pumpkin Spice Latte 2 (My favorite of the two)

Printable recipe here.

Ingredients

For the pumpkin spice syrup:

  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 4 cinnamon sticks or 1 Tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves (used my mortar and pestle to ground up whole cloves)
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 3 Tbsp canned pumpkin

**Update:  I love a strong pumpkin spice taste in my latte and felt it could be made stronger, so I did so, by doubling all spices in my latest batch of the syrup and it’s perfect now.

Ingredients for pumpkin spice latte:

  • 2 – 4 Tbsp very strongly brewed coffee
  • 6 -8 oz skim milk, very hot (I used my steamer to heat mine up)
  • 2 Tbsp pumpkin spice syrup (to taste)
  • Whipped cream, optional
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon

Directions:

1. To make the syrup, combine sugar and water in a small pot over medium heat, stirring occasionally until mixture is completely clear.

2. Whisk in the remaining ingredients and continue to cook for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently.  Do not allow the mixture to come to a boil.

3.  Allow the mixture to cool for 10 – 15 minutes.

4.  Strain syrup through cheesecloth or a fine mesh strainer into a large jar or bottle of your choice.

5.  Keep the syrup in the fridge.  It should last for weeks.

6.  To make the latte, combine the strongly-brewed coffee or espresso with the milk, and stir in the pumpkin spice syrup to taste.

7.  Top with whipped cream and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

Enjoy!  This recipe makes a single serving, but  I doubled the recipe tonight as my husband wanted one too!

In case you are wondering where I found the labels (like the one I used for the simple syrup), they are simply dissolvable canning labels.

And of course I couldn’t let all the canned pumpkin I had left over go to waste, so I put it in an ice cube tray to freeze and save for the next time I run out of the pumpkin spice syrup.  I figured out that each portion in the ice cube tray is 1 tablespoon so the next time I want to make the syrup, I can just pop out three frozen cubes of pumpkin.

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pumpkin Spice Latte

  1. Wendy says:

    I found a recipe which leaves in the spices, however I am not so fond of the texture! I’ll have to try the simple syrup idea.

Leave a Reply

